Nicole- metanoia

"Where perception is, there also are pain and pleasure, and where these are, there, of necessity, is desire." -Aristotle

A-Z : Stories

C is for Church

“Hope” was the topic on that Sunday. Hope for the future or hope to be close to God, whatever what hope meant to you on that day. As the pastor was calling for an alter call, l begin to shed tears because l had lost hope and faith in myself. I walked to the altar and kneed down to pray to God.

Dear God,

I may not be good with prayers but please forgive me for my sins today as l cry out to you. Sometimes this world is hard to understand. And even when l trust you, my heart still ache. So l come to you today asking for the hope l need. Hope that sees past the here-and-now to the then-and-there. Hope that believes what l cannot yet glimpse. Hope that holds my heart up in the moments when life brings me to my knees. You are the only One who can sustain. You are the only One who can save. Be the rescuer of my soul, the deliverer of my dreams, the holder of my heart. l believe that even the darkest night must lead to dawn. l wait with expectation. Give me courage. Surround me with comfort. Love me through to the other side in the way only you can. I put my hope, and my hopes for those l love, in you. Amen.

I realized that l pray not only to please myself but also God. I pray because :

When l am down with worry,

He lifts my spirit.

When l feel like there is no one to turn too,

He is there to carry my burden,

He provides a way.

When l don’t know where to go,

He shows me the right path.

Where l fall,

He reaches down to pick me up.

When l have to do the impossible,

God makes it possible.

For with God,

I can do anything.

Because it is He,

Who strengthens me.

 

H is for Hospital

I ran for the bus, wishing that it’ll stop snowing. At this rate, l doubt l could reach the hospital in time. You see my sister was having an eye surgery. It was practically a miracle if she was able to see again, well not technically.

Her surgery was going to end anytime now and l didn’t want her to wake up without a familiar face around.

Freezing my myself, muting the blaring music from my headphones. I could only hope the best and pray that my tired legs could take me to the train station.

The clock struck four by the time l was in the vicinity of the hospital. I squinted my eyes as blinding light shone through the hospital doors, blaringly bright against the dull town surrounding it. As l dragged my tired and soaked limbs into the hospital. People were rushing in and out of rooms; some with stack of paper, or patients. Shaking my head, l ignored the stares thrown at my direction. Maybe it was because of my colourful clothes l was wearing.

It turns out l arrived at the hospital later and my sister was done with her surgery and it had gone well.

 

V is for Volleyball Court

The loud whistle blew. Tweeeeeeeeeet! We had won our final championship game.

The big gym was so smelly and hot, but I didn’t mind. I was used to all of it. It was my last game of the season and my last year playing club volleyball. I was happy and sad at the same time. Happy that we had won and sad that it was my last. I began to think why l feel in love with this game.

I fell in love with this game because the volleyball court was where I found myself most free and it still is. I always say that if you want to know who I am, watch me play, nothing defines me more than when I’m on the court with my teammates competing. It’s the truest expression of myself, it’s what drives me to be a better player, a better person, and to pursue something that has never been done before

Volleyball has given me so much more than I have ever been able to give it. It gave me a family, something to look forward to everyday and hope that l can be better at something if l just give it my all. I’ve learned to face pain and know I’ll be OK. I’ve learned some of my strongest, most loving relationships have come from people I can’t speak the same language with. I’ve learned that who you are is not determined by anyone but yourself. And I’ve learned that gratitude is the most essential key to living.

Next Post

Previous Post

2 Comments

  1. zainab310 December 5, 2017

    Dear Nicole,
    Your A-Z writing was amazing. I loved all three equally because they all discussed many perspectives on so many topics. Your ability to be so clear and organized in your writing is a big strength that you have. Your poem in the first writing potion was stunning and showed who you are as a person.
    One thing to work on is you presentation of detail. I think you may need to add in some more description as it will paint a clearer picture in the readers mind. Other than that, your work is perfect.
    Zainab

    • leogem December 19, 2017 — Post Author

      Dear Zainab,

      Thank you so much for the feedback. I’m really glad that enjoyed. I will make sure to work on my presentation of detail in the future.

      Love,

      Nicole

Leave a Reply

© 2024 Nicole- metanoia

Theme by Anders Norén

Skip to toolbar